New Jersey Slip and Fall Laws and Compensation

July 1, 2021

Our New Jersey attorneys have helped clients convicted of a DUI protect their CDL status and their career.

DUI Laws and Penalties for CDL

In New Jersey, any person operating a vehicle or a boat with a BAC of 0.08% or greater is considered to be driving under the influence.  One or more DUI convictions may result in penalties ranging from fines to jail time and community service. 

Individuals possessing a commercial driver’s license (CDL) face a greater level of legal complications when it comes to DUI convictions.  The initial DUI conviction that takes place in a passenger vehicle, if the driver’s BAC is between 0.08 and 0.10, will result in a three to 12-month basic driver’s license suspension and a one-year CDL suspension.  If a second conviction takes place, it will result in a two-year basic driver’s license suspension and a permanently revoked CDL.

If the driver is initially convicted with a BAC of 0.10 or higher, they will face higher penalties than drivers below this range.  These penalties include, but are not limited to: 1) 7-month to one year basic driver’s license suspension; 2) one-year CDL license suspension; 3) $300-$500 in fines; 4) 12-48 hours at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) and 5) up to 30 days in jail.

Contact The GC Law Firm Today

A DUI conviction that results in a suspension or revocation of your CDL can tarnish your reputation and your career.  Our DUI attorneys will help you navigate the complicated legal system and make sure you are treated fairly by the courts.  Contact us today at 201-488-1825, or through our website, for a free consultation!

Contact Us

Leave us a message

250 Moonachie Rd, Ste. 200, Moonachie, NJ.

(201) 488-1825

2 Park Avenue - 20th Floor New York, NY 10016

(212) 878-6699

Powered by: