The adoption attorneys at The GC Law Firm will tell you everything you need to know to adopt a child in the state of New Jersey.
State of New Jersey Adoption Laws
- Anybody over the age of 18, who is at least 10 years older than the child, may apply for adoption. This includes a married couple, a married individual living separately from their spouse, the child’s sibling, aunt uncle, grandparent, birth father or stepparent.
- There is no exact income threshold for adoption, but you must be able to financially support and care for your family in order to be eligible for New Jersey child adoption. The state will review your finances, expenses and income to determine your eligibility.
- The New Jersey Department of Children and Families provides 27 hours of in-home training to prepare families and singles for the realities of adoption. During this time, the Department will address any questions or concerns the adoptive parent (s) or child (if older than age 10) may have.
Our attorneys here at The GC Law Firm have many years of experience guiding New Jersey families through the process of adoption. Contact the firm today at (201)-488-1825, or through our website, and we will assist you right away!